Going Nowhere Slowly

A number of years ago, a strange coincidence saw me participating in the making of an episode of the South African travel show, Going Nowhere Slowly. I was visiting family on their farm in Maclear, and word got around that the crew was gathering up “real cowboys” for an episode of the show. Coming from a family of horse riders, my cousin and I went along for the ride. We were mounted on two crazy beasts, handed a double brandy and coke, and spent the day traversing the foothills of the Drakensberg, stopping for a braai along the way. Our ride ended at the local town hotel; we rode our horses straight through the door and into the pub. It was something to behold.

Since then, the phrase “going nowhere slowly” has really stuck with me. The theme song for the show goes, “going nowhere slowly, and that’s alright”. For the past few months, whilst organising my next moves, I’ve been doing just that; going nowhere slowly, and it’s been alright. So I thought I’d share some fragments of my recent little adventures in the beautiful province that I grew up in.

Road-tripping through the Eastern Cape

Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots

Driving my brother’s wonderful old Hilux on rocky roads to favourite spots to write and draw.

Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots

Getting up close and personal with RhinosGoing nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots

And other large beasts

Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots

And heading off into the middle of nowhere with my favourite travel companionsGoing nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots Going nowhere slowly, by These Walking Boots

Comment on this post

