Strangers and Street Art in Joburg

Some of my most uplifting experiences, both whilst travelling and in daily life, come from the tiny interactions I have in passing with strangers. Sometimes it’s an exchanged glance or a quick conversation, even something glimpsed in the distance, other times it can be a spontaneous interaction that extends for hours and can even evolve into a lifelong friendship. As much as I love travelling and exploring with friends, I often find myself doing these things alone, and I’ve come to realise that this is when I’m most receptive to the chance encounters which add interest to my day.

I had one of these moments on my recent Red Bus Tour in Joburg. I took a little stroll down Carr Street in Newtown, a street that’s known to be lined with cool graffiti, and met a guy who was taking a break outside. He walked the street with me, and we chatted about art and life and work and happiness, and then I left, feeling a just little bit more connected to the world. Carr Street, by These Walking BootsCarr Street, by These Walking Boots Carr Street, by These Walking BootsCarr Street, by These Walking Boots Carr Street, by These Walking Boots Carr Street, by These Walking BootsCarr Street, by These Walking Boots

Comment on this post

