Jozi Red Bus Tour Part I: City Scenes

I recently returned from a trip to Johannesburg, where I had a chance to cross a few more things off my Jozi Bucket List. I finally took the Red Bus Tour, which I have been dying to do since it opened a route in Joburg last year. I’ve got lots to show for my Red Bus adventure, but I’ll start with a few pictures of the city and its people, captured from the bus.

Joburg is a great city, but it is also one of contradictions. It’s got an incredibly rich diversity of people and such a layered, complex history. It is where the county’s wealthiest and poorest citizens meet, and yet seldom see each other. The streets downtown bear the evidence of the tragedies of the city’s past, whilst simultaneously revealing the undeniable tensions of the present, and burgeoning hope for the future. It is at once beautiful and heartbreaking.

Red Bus Tour, by These Walking Boots

Red Bus Tour, by These Walking BootsIMG_0949

Many people survive on the humble profits of micro-enterprises.

Many people survive on the humble profits of micro-enterprises.

Red Bus Tour, by These Walking Boots

Mini-bus taxis serve as the primary mode of transport for thousands of people in and around Joburg

 

The Rissik Street Post Office was once the tallest building in Joburg. It was damaged in a tragic fire in 2009, but there are plans to restore it to its former glory.

The Rissik Street Post Office was once the tallest building in Joburg. It was damaged in a tragic fire in 2009, but there are plans to restore it to it’s former glory.

IMG_0954

Joburg's streets tell the truth: inequality persists in South Africa

Joburg’s streets tell the truth: inequality persists in South Africa

Red Bus Tour, by These Walking Boots

This glass building on 11 Diagonal Street, built in 1984, was designed by Helmut Jahn and is intended to resemble a cut diamond.

Red Bus Tour, by These Walking Boots

4 thoughts on “Jozi Red Bus Tour Part I: City Scenes

    1. thesewalkingboots Post author

      Hi Elzabe. Thanks for dropping in on my blog. I just directed someone to your deck yesterday! I’m really hoping to cross Zietsies off my list next time I’m in Joburg. I’ll give you a heads up.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Jozi Red Bus Tour Part II: Santarama Miniland | These Walking Boots

  2. Pingback: Introducing A Jozi Bucket List | These Walking Boots

Comment on this post

