Introducing A Jozi Bucket List

johannesburg1
My foray into blogging began as I tried to build a relationship with a city I thought I didn’t want to be in: Johanesburg, South Africa. I moved there from the beautiful Cape Town for work. I didn’t know anyone there, and I had more than one reason to want to stay in Cape Town at the time. Nonetheless, I moved. At first, I was very closed to the city on principle. But things changed; I resigned from my job in order to spend some time travelling, and so, knowing I was due to leave the city in a few months, I decided to make my peace and get to know the city with new eyes. So, I started a blog called A Jozi Bucket List; made a bucket list of all the things I wanted to do in the city; and went out and did them. Having now moved from Johannesburg, and in preparation for my next set of adventures, I have put on my walking boots and started a new blog (this one), but I have brought my stories and images with me. I thought I’d introduce them by remembering my Jozi Bucket List and all the joy it brought me.

Items with links will take you to the corresponding blog post, and those not crossed out I haven’t yet managed to do. I happen to be in Joburg for a few days as I write this, so I’m sure I’ll be crossing off a few more before I leave. I hope you enjoy.

The Bucket List

9 thoughts on “Introducing A Jozi Bucket List

  1. Aryn

    Hey Laura, very cool blog! Thanks for your interest in contributing to Driftwood and Daydreams! I would love to feature you on my blog. Send in whatever you like, whenever you like as long as it’s travel related. Email me at driftwoodanddaydreams(at)yahoo(dot)com. Hope to hear from you soon and good luck on your bucket list!

    Reply
  2. 2summers

    There are several items on this list that I myself have not managed to do yet. I’m curious to know — what’s the lookout point at Zietsies?

    Reply
      1. 2summers

        Wow, I’m so glad you posted this. I live right next to Auckland Park and never knew this place existed. You learn something new every day.

  3. Pingback: Jozi Red Bus Tour Part I: City Scenes | These Walking Boots

  4. Meruschka

    Hi Laura,
    This is a great bucketlist! Love your Jozi bucketlist blog too! Still so many things I need to do too. Didn’t know about Zietsies either. The biew from Hope School field is pretty awesome. Good luck in scratching a few more off the list!

    Reply
    1. thesewalkingboots Post author

      Thanks Meruschka! I’m sure Zietsies would love to have you, and I’ll definitely try and check out the view from the Hope School field next time I’m there. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Comment on this post

