Anyone for a pickle?

I have always had a fervent love of pickled foods. In my former years, I used to go to the tuckshop and, instead of buying sweets like any little girl might, I’d ask, in vain, for olives; my family teased me about my habit of eating pickled onions before breakfast; and constantly threatened that if I kept eating so many gherkins, I’d turn into one.

I didn’t know it at the time, but, quite taken with my early partiality towards pickles, an old family friend gave my parents a little pickle fork to give to me when I grew up. They recently presented it to me, having found it among some family silver, stored in a little box with my name on it.

It’s a delightful little implement! It’s very clever, with a trigger that when pulled releases the pickle effortlessly off the fork. And it carries such a lovely story! I can’t wait to bring it out at a Sunday luncheon with my lady friends.

ImagePickle fork and box, by These Walking Boots Pickle fork and box, by These Walking Boots Pickle Fork, by These Walking BootsImage

One thought on “Anyone for a pickle?

  1. Pingback: Hobson’s Choice: a Hidden Gem in Somerset East | These Walking Boots

Comment on this post

