Shooting With A Canon

For the past few years I’ve been taking pictures with analogue cameras; Lomography cameras to be exact. I’ve really enjoyed using film again, and having to wait a while before seeing the pictures I’ve already forgotten that I took. I’ve enjoyed the surrender of control over the light and the behaviour of the film, and the beauty that often emerges out of silly mistakes.

Image

The lovely LC-A+ in action

Recently though, as my enthusiasm for photography has grown, I’ve experienced more and more a frustration that arises in situations when my Lomo cameras are not at their best: in low light, when I see something interesting that I can’t get close to, and when I want to get more technical and not be quite so much at the mercy of my camera. It’s taken me a little while, because I’ve become attached to the culture of Lomography, but I finally bought myself a DSLR! I figure it makes a lot of sense, given that I’m going to be gallivanting across the world and can’t be sure to find photo labs that are still competent with film (although I’m sure I won’t be able to resist taking at least one of my Lomo cameras travelling too). Look how pretty it is.

Image

Canon 600D

I’m very pleased with it, and I’ve got a long way to go before I can say I’m taking quality pictures with it, but I’m sure I’ll learn quickly. I’ll also need to learn some basic editing, which is something I’ve obstinately avoided with analogue. Watch this space for some of my first snaps.

Comment on this post

